41 Years Later

It was my honor to be a part of the Manalapan NJ High School Easter trip to Switzerland in 1971.  My ninth grade language teacher, Herr Schmidt, thought everyone should see some part of Europe and said so on the first day.  To my ears, a reasonable proposition.

To my parents, not so much.  But a winter of delivering papers and shoveling driveways convinced them I was serious and would only require a signed permission slip.

The result was a near sleepless week in an exotic locale surrounded by Americans I barely knew and foreigners I could never hope to understand.  A determined fourteen-year-old with the language skills of a German toddler.   What could possibly go wrong?

As it turns out, not a thing.  Armed with three rolls of film, a borrowed Instamatic and an ability to say either “Good Morning” or “I’m sorry” in three different languages I saw Switzerland.  And I loved it.  Every minute of it.

But I didn’t go back.  At first I couldn’t, then it was no longer exotic enough.

Last month we arrived in France with two weeks of plans and three weeks before our flight home.  New friends invited us to visit Italy during the unscheduled week.  We accepted with barely a thought for our transit of Switzerland.

Until I ran into myself.  There is a picture of me on the shore of Lake Lucerne that has survived the forty one year trip from Manalapan, NJ to Moraga, CA.  In it I am the size of a man with the face of a boy.   An anything is possible smile sits under eyes that see nothing but blue skies ahead.  A well-intentioned and arrogant young man with one cleared hurdle to his credit and no future in meteorology.  He and I have much to discuss.

None of which should get in the way of your Sunday morning visit to Lake Lucerne, Switzerland.  A place where memories come alive.

About Paul and Karen Brisson

Producers of SlowTV. Scenic videos that use light and motion to explore the natural world. We make them, watch them and enjoy sharing them. Please watch and comment.
This entry was posted in Art, Contemplation, Nature, Relaxation, Scenic, SlowTV and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 41 Years Later

  1. Liz says:

    Ahh memories! As I read this it is Dad’s Birthday-July 18, and talk of Lake Lucerne made me look up the lake that he was excited to visit – Lake Louise in Alberta Canada. I think there was a movie that featured this lake and he finally got to visit before he became sick. And your picture is not the only thing that remains from that trip – I still have a dog doll made with real dog hair in a plastic bag waiting for who knows what? When we moved last I opened it up – and the smell was something to remember!!! Nice blog – talk to you soon.

  2. Deborah says:

    Really beautiful views with nice sounds!!

  3. Jean Cimino says:

    Wow! Gorgeous! Enjoy your fantastic trip.

  4. grace says:

    You are such an amazing writer!

  5. Don says:

    That was lovely. The bells were a a great accompaniment. And the Alps were a fitting finish.
    Bravo!
    41 years!?!?! We must be having fun.
    Don

  6. Stacey Huston says:

    I love this! And am so very envious!!

Leave a Reply

