Falling for Yosemite

This week ‘s escape to the real world will either save you the trouble of a difficult hike or oblige you to make a little room on your bucket list.

Yosemite Falls is the highest waterfall in North America.  The water does not exactly fall the entire 2425 feet at once.  It thunders down the upper falls, cascades along a bit through the middle falls, finally, dropping down the lower falls.

The rock formation that causes this prevents anyone in the valley from seeing either the bottom of the upper falls or the top of the lower falls.  That requires a hike.

The Yosemite Falls trail is over 120 years old.  Plenty of time for the few rocks I missed to have been stumbled over by others.  It took an hour and a half to go about a mile and a half.  All of it steep, most of it rocky and some of it wet.  Like the tortoise I was passed often at the beginning, ahead of many at the lookout and an exhausted shell of myself at the end.

My reward, a few minutes at “Oh My Gosh Point”, twelve hundred feet above the valley floor and a couple of dozen yards from tons of cascading water.  A view even someone afraid of heights could appreciate with a soundtrack felt as well as heard.

While I was clinging to the cliff trying to convince myself I had conquered vertigo (I hadn’t) a good friend and original subscriber was undergoing an appendectomy: feel better soon, Dawn.

Please join me now on the side of a cliff about half way up Yosemite Falls for a two minute escape to a different reality.

If you enjoyed this two minute escape, please help to spread the word.  Use the links below or forward it individually.  Thanks.

About Paul and Karen Brisson

Producers of SlowTV. Scenic videos that use light and motion to explore the natural world. We make them, watch them and enjoy sharing them. Please watch and comment.
This entry was posted in California, Rivers, Scenic, SlowTV, Waterfalls, Yosemite and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Falling for Yosemite

  1. Roger Smith says:

    Wonderful, having been there and watching the pine tree sway in the second segment I could feel the wind and the mist off of the falls. Thanks for the memories.

  2. Karen Stempson says:

    This is great Paul! I definitely think it was worth the climb. I especially liked the last shot looking down on the lower falls but it was too short compared to the other shots.

  3. Don says:

    Yeah! That’s my idea of a nice image for the living room wall and pleasant background noise. Nice job. Slow motion or just deceptive motion?

  4. Athena Kyle says:

    Emily and I did that hike up to the top of Upper Yosemite Falls last summer on a hot day. What a killer.
    Thanks for the reminder of the beauty of why we did it.

  5. Since I will never get to make that hike, I really appreciated seeing the falls that way. It was ONE of your best videos.

Leave a Reply

